The Fiasco Factor

24 Jun

I used to like “The Show Goes On” by Lupe Fiasco because 1) I hear it everywhere and its catchy so it gets caught in my head for the rest of the day, 2) it’s basically a remake of “Float On” by Modest Mouse which is 100 times better, 3) it has that fuck you I’m determined and going to win this battle attitude which helps build your personal narrative and destroy all enemies and is appealing to pretty much everyone even if you aren’t the ghetto kids he’s talking to in the song.

But then in an interview on CBS with Shira Lazar he called Obama a “terrorist” and said that he didn’t vote because it was “meaningless.”  Interested in all levels of ridiculousness, Bill O’Reilly got a hold of it and let Fiasco defend his comments on The O’Reilly Factor.  Bad move for Lupe.  He should have just kept his mouth shut because every time he opened it he furthered his self-destruction and gave points over to O’Reilly.  I’m not usually a fan of O’Reilly and I hate to say it but he won this one.

From the interview with Shira Lazar:

Lazar:  Who are you looking to vote for in the 2012 presidential race?

Fiasco: I don’t vote

Lazar: Oh you don’t vote?

Fiasco: Na, I don’t vote

Lazar: Really?

Fiasco: No, I don’t vote.  I don’t get involved in politics

Lazar: Why?

Fiasco:  Because its meaningless, to be honest

Whaaaaaaaaa?????????????  I’m going back home to Modest Mouse.  Their video is WAY better anyways.

Leave a Reply

